My Life in France by Julia Child

Image

WARNING:  THIS BOOK MAY INDUCE A SEVERE INCLINATION TO VISIT FRANCE, COOK FRENCH FOOD, OR WATCH JULIE AND JULIA.  PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

I’m only halfway through this book, but I’m so delighted with what I’ve read so far that I thought it safe to review it.  I’m usually not a big fan of non-fiction or memoirs, because they can often be really dry and dull, so I’m a little surprised to be enjoying this one as much as I am.  I wasn’t really expecting anything great from the writing, as I think of Julia Child primarily as a great cook and television star.  I was pleasantly surprised once more to discover that she could actually write.  Julia’s style is a comfortable, confiding one that makes the reader feel as if they are having a long chat with her over coffee.  She’s excellent at painting a picture of France, not through descriptions of famous landmarks and big happenings, but through descriptions of cafes and restaurants, encounters with people, and recountings of the little adventures that make up life.  She radiates joy and warmth, and her engaging, larger than life personality jumps off the pages, making the reader feel as if they know her personally.  She manages to capture the very essence of Paris without needing to talk about it, and her simple, down-to-earth style effortlessly conveys exactly what she means to say without taking pages to do it.  Her buoyant spirit and good humor spill over into her writing as she describes her little mishaps with cooking, her drafty unequipped French kitchen, and the journey to getting her revolutionary cookbook published.   Her passion and excitement for perfecting her recipes and her enthusiasm for France and all of its people make it impossible not to fall in love with her from the first page.  Join Julia on her meandering journey through the side streets of Paris and the adventures of her life there in her heartwarming, humorous, and compelling memoir My Life in France.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Life in France by Julia Child

Leave a Reply

