My Desert Island Books

Image

As I am a major nerd, sometimes I consider what books I would read if I could only read a certain number for the rest of my life, like if I was stranded on a desert island or some equally unlikely situation.  I sit on my bed facing my bookshelves and try to pick only 10, which soon turns to 20 or 30, and before you know it I’m picking my top 80 books, which might sound ridiculous to anyone who’s not a reader.  With much difficulty, I pared my list down to 20 books, which is the best I can do.  I’m not sure why I would have time to grab 20 books if I were on a sinking ship or plane, but these are the one’s I’d reach for if I could.  So if you need something to read this summer,  here are my top 20 best of the best.

1) Les Miserables (this would be the book I would take if I could only have one, because I feel that I would never get tired of its interesting and complicated storyline)

2) The Count of Monte Cristo

3)The Goose Girl

4) Enna Burning

5) River Secrets

6) The Night Circus

7) Ella Enchanted

8) Book of a Thousand Days

9) Skybreaker

10) The Tale of Despereux

11) Wives and Daughters

12) The Fault in Our Stars

13) Edenbrooke

14) Jane Eyre

15) Wuthering Heights

16) The City of Ember

17) The Mysterious Benedict Society

18) Princess Academy

19) Anne of Green Gables

20) The Complete Works of Jane Austen (yes, I know this is sort of cheating, but there was no way I could only pick 20 books otherwise, and I do actually have this book)

Well, sorry for the short post this week, but I’ve got an all day Jane Austen marathon to watch 🙂  Have a great week!

10 thoughts on “My Desert Island Books

    • It’s so hard! I love them all so much. But I would probably pick Les Mis, although it’s not my favorite book, just because I think it could entertain me for several years of re-readings. What book would you take?

      • I just finished that series yesterday and I don’t know what to do with my life now! I’m just wandering around telling myself I should start something new, but Harry is such a hard act to follow. I’m trying to read either Anna Karenina or Great Expectations, but I’m not really into either and keep switching between them. I’ve taken to carrying them both around with me, because I change my mind so often.

      • That’s okay because I feel like there’s a lot more to pull out of it than most people realize. It’s not just a kid’s book. And I think every two years is an appropriate interval of time-frequent enough for you to read them as much as you’d like to, but enough time to allow you to read other things. Also, it means that you won’t get sick of them (if that could happen) and you won’t remember every single thing that happens. I think I’m going to read them every three or four years, or just whenever I feel like it.

Leave a Reply

