The Woman in White

Image

Isn’t that cute?  I’m wearing white in the picture.  Yeah… So I finished reading The Woman in White this week, and found it highly entertaining.  Although it’s a classic, I found it very exciting and easy to read–it read almost like a soap opera, a crime drama, or an action movie at some parts (an action movie set in the 1800’s).  So if you want to seem highly intelligent by reading classic literature in your spare time, while you’re actually just breezing through a mystery novel, this book is the way to go!  I found this book to be a very engrossing and fast read, which is sort of perfect for summer–you can feel good about yourself because, if you’re anything like me, you probably want to read some sort of classic this summer, but you don’t want to have to sort through any James Joyce or something equally tiresome and pompous (spoiler alert, I’m not a huge James Joyce fan).

The book opens on our hero, Walter Hartright, who in walking home one night encounters a hysterical and mysterious woman dressed strangely all in white.  He helps her secure a ride to her destination, but is unable to find out her name or where she is headed.  Mulling this over, he heads for home again, only to overhear two policemen talking about a girl who has escaped from an insane asylum and realizes that he has possible assisted a criminal or dangerous personage.  Which is very bad.  This sets of a chain of seemingly unconnected events which will make Walter’s life a lot more exciting, to say the least.

This book has suspense, intrigue, espionage, murder plots, a love triangle, several cases of assumed and mistaken identities, death, arson, love, and one of my new favorite characters in all of literature (Marian Halcombe).  Overall, it’s sure to keep readers on the edge of their seats, and it’s very easy to get through.  The writing style is beautiful, and reminds me of Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights.  If you’ve been contemplating reading it, please do.

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the book:  “One of the rarest of all the intellectual accomplishments that a man can possess, is the grand faculty of arranging his ideas.  Immense privilege!  I possess it.  Do you?”

9 thoughts on “The Woman in White

  1. This book is currently collecting dust on my bookshelf — I got it at a book sale a few months ago. After reading your review, I’m thinking I’m going to have to finally get around to reading it!

  2. Stop being so pulchritudinous (yes, I did just use a big word (: I learned it last week). You’re so photogenic it’s ridiculous. Whoever took the pic did a wonderful job too! (Good book review too!) 🙂

    • Thanks love! (and yes, I did just have to look up your big word. I hope you’re happy) Olivia, my personal photograph/sister took the picture. I’ve earned back hypothetical brownie points from modeling for her for so many years that occasionally I get to cash them in.

  3. You’re so pretty! Love the pose in your picture! 🙂
    Though this book is on my TBR list, I really haven’t gotten around to it. I’m not usually one for classics. But after reading your review, I think I’m gonna have to step it up the list! 😛

Leave a Reply

