The Language of Flowers

Image

Hey guys!  I read this book this week and had mixed feelings about it.  I started out really loving it–I started it fairly late and wanted to stay up all night reading it instead of going to sleep.  The next day at school I was pretty annoyed that my teachers had the audacity to assign me work (Leave me alone!  Can’t you see I’m busy reading?!  How dare they.)  So yeah, I was pretty into it, to the point that I was just sitting around thinking about how much I liked it instead of actually reading it (please say I’m not the only one who does this).  It’s engrossing and has a sort of everyday magic and realistic whimsy about it.  It’s about a girl who grows up in and out of foster homes and orphanages, and at 18, is about to be pushed out of the system to live on her own.  Hurt and mistrustful of anyone who tries to reach out to her, she retreats inside of herself to live in a sanctuary centered around her love of flowers.  She avoids living on the streets by taking a job in a flower shop, where she discovers she has a special gift for healing the broken parts of customers through the flowers she arranges for them, and the meanings behind these flowers, according to the Victorian flower language.  Now this is all well and good, but here the problem comes in (Spoiler Alert!): She goes and gets herself pregnant.  Now, I’ll be 19 next week.  I’m an adult, I know these things go on.  But it just gets on my nerves that every time I read a young adult book or a book with a teenager in it, the main character turns out to be someone I can’t respect; someone who doesn’t think about their future and makes loads of careless and stupid decisions.  I know that writers do this because they’re trying to be relate-able and talk about Real Issues, but I think that it’s getting a little overdone.  Character development is probably what interests me most in a story.  I’ve never been a person who’s super into plot based books–I just can’t get into about a book about a war between goblins and elves or whatever.  So I really like characters, and it’s nice to be able to respect them and sympathize with them.  But when I’m invested in a character and they start making stupid decisions I have a really hard time caring about what happens to them, and it makes it difficult for me to finish the book.  But although I wish the character had made different decisions, I found it really easy to read (I started it at 9:00 one night and finished it at 9 the next), I loved the romantic concept of the Victorian flower language, and I thought it handled the subject of foster care in an interesting way.

One thought on “The Language of Flowers

  1. I so loved this book! I do agree about being frustrated when characters don’t behave rationally, and I was suuuper upset during the part of the story right after she has the baby and doesn’t really know how to care for it, BUT doesn’t reach out for anyone’s help. Grr.

    Thanks for visiting my blog! xo leanna

Leave a Reply

