Insurgent

11735983[1]

I just finished reading Insurgent, the sequel to Divergent (review: https://camgirl26.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/divergent/) and I loved it!  I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did, because I’d heard that it wasn’t as good as the first one.  I disagree; I liked it at least as much as Divergent, and I would definitely tell people who are hesitant to read it because they’re worried it won’t be any good to give it a try.  I didn’t have any trouble getting through it 🙂

I don’t want to give away any spoilers because that’s not cool and I don’t want to ruin Divergent for any of you who haven’t read it because you should.  Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off, which is great because we don’t miss any of the action (and there’s a lot of action).  The book focuses on the growing cracks in the dysfunctional faction system, which is more unstable than ever, threatening to shatter at any moment and leave millions of casualties in its wake.  In additions to this, we discover new facets and secrets of the society as Tris becomes less satisfied with blindly following the government, and more determined to find out the truth.   But everyone has a different version of the truth, and Tris doesn’t know who she can trust.

Insurgent is just as full of action as Divergent was (maybe even more so), but doesn’t let character development fall by the wayside either.  I love how Veronica Roth manages to write really engrossing fast paced stories that have both moments of action and deep thought provoking ideas.  And I love how Tris is a main character who’s trying to be brave and strong while trying to come to terms with herself and figure out what she believes.  Usually a character who doesn’t know what she wants would bother me, but Tris doesn’t– probably because she refuses to sit around and cry about it.  And her heedlessness and insistence on action don’t bother me like they do with some other characters ( I know, a lot bothers me).  I think she’s a really good mix of uncertainty, vulnerability, and strength.

So enough rambling.  I think you should go read Insurgent ( or Divergent) if you’ve been hesitant.  I highly doubt you will regret it 🙂 Happy reading!

14 thoughts on “Insurgent

  1. Also, on a semi related note, I think the last book in the trilogy should be called “Convergent” (get it? isn’t that so clever?) and it should be red. I will be exceedingly disappointed if this doesn’t happen.

  2. Yay! So glad you liked it. Love the last 3-4 lines! Such a cliffhanger. Can’t wait for the third one! It comes out 2 days before my birthday so will be the last book of my twenties so I’m praying it will be awesome!

  3. Thanks for this! I loved Divergent but have been putting off reading Insurgent because I have not heard good things… I think I’ll get it now after reading your review!

  4. Loved both books!! 😀 CAN’T wait for the third book! I want it to be called Convergent too! The last four lines freaked me out so much! Crazy cliffhanger!
    Wow, that’s a lot of explanation points. Sorry. 😉

  5. I took your advice. I loved it. But now More waiting begins. 😦 I thought it was a nice continuation, her unstableness is 10x less annoying than Katniss. But then again Tris has Tobias to keep her sane….
    Thanks for the great recommendation!!

Leave a Reply

