The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah E. Ladd

Image

 The moment some of you have been waiting for has finally arrived: a publishing company has finally sent me a free reviewers copy of a book this week!  I was a little bit unsure of The Heiress of Winterwood at first.  The only Christian fiction I’d read had focused on rebellious Amish girls who, frankly, were not very interesting or relatable to me.   Frustrated by those crazy Amish girls and their rebellious ways, I was almost ready to throw in the towel.  But I’m so glad I didn’t.
Amelia Barrett’s world is crashing down around her.  A frantic night of trying to help her best friend through childbirth leaves her alone, with a dead friend and a promise to somehow look after the newly orphaned child.  Although Amelia tries to stay strong for the baby she now loves as her own, she finds the challenges facing her almost insurmountable.  She holds a good position in society, but her status as a woman prevents her from making her own decisions,and she is pressured into a convenient engagement by her family.  Her fiance seems to be perfect; he’s handsome, rich, well-liked, and on top of it all, he seems to love her.  But he doesn’t want the child.  In desperation, Amelia toys with the idea of jilting him to do the unthinkable: asking the baby’s widowed father to marry her in order to keep her promise to her friend.  Sacrificing her propriety, risking estrangement with her family, and promising to spend the rest of her life with a complete stranger are terrifying enough, but they aren’t the only things weighing on Amelia’s mind.  She needs to make a decision within a couple of weeks, or the entirety of her parents’ estate will go to another relative, leaving her penniless and without a home.
I actually liked this book more than I thought I would.  I was quickly sucked into the story, and finished it in two or three days. The plot twists and character developments kept me interested, and the fact that the book was set in the regency time period didn’t slow down the book or make it too dull.  The Christian elements were inspiring and realistic, but people who don’t normally read Christian fiction could also enjoy this read. It was a fast-moving and sweet book, and I’m glad I read it.
**BookSneeze provided me with a complementary advanced reading copy of this book.  The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
2 thoughts on “The Heiress of Winterwood by Sarah E. Ladd

  1. I’ve never read any Christian fiction before and admittedly, I’d never actually heard of the genre before… This book doesn’t sound so bad though. I might have a look at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

