The Fault in Our Stars

 

fault-in-our-stars[1]

I’ve been highly recommending this book to everyone recently, but I don’t know what to say when they ask me what it’s about.  “Life”, I sometimes answer.  They look at me blankly, hoping for something a little less all-encompassing.  “Okay…Cancer.”

I’ve sort of been having a mental love affair with this book all week.  It all started last weekend when I was at Barnes and Noble.  I had just bought five books, and was waiting for my mom to finish up.  While I was waiting, I picked up The Fault in Our Stars, as it was brighly colored and I’d heard it was good (and as we all know, these are my two main reasons for picking up a book).  Pretty soon I was sitting on the floor of the bookstore like an idiot, completely oblivious of the odd stares and professional looking people stepping over my legs.  I read about 50 pages on the floor of Barnes and Noble, an impressive feat for me, as I usually am unable to completely forget my surroundings in public.  It was really engrossing.  But I didn’t buy it.  Why?  Well, first off I already had five books, and six would just be too much.  But more than that, because it was about cancer.  And cancer isn’t fun.

However, despite how un-fun the book promised to be, I was still drawn to it.  It kept cropping up in odd places, catching me off guard; I saw reviews for it on word press, and even encountered it in a youtube video I was watching (seriously?  That’s not fair.)  I tried to keep my mind on the five books I’d bought, but felt like I was mentally cheating on them, daydreaming about reading The Fault in Our Stars instead.  It felt like forever.  In reality, it was only three days until I caved.  Once I’d bought it, there was no stopping me; I tore through it in a matter of hours.

And it was so good!  I expected that it would be heart-rending and deep, but I didn’t expect the equal dose of hilarity that filled the pages.  I found myself laughing and crying interchangeably, and without warning.

The Fault in Our Stars details the story of two teenagers with cancer, often treating the subject with shocking and hilarious levity, sometimes revealing the raw undercurrents of tragedy that go hand in hand with the disease.  But more than anything, this book is about life, about living your fullest while you can.  However, I wouldn’t really recommend this book to kids younger than high school, because it is an adult book, and there’s a good deal of swearing, and there is an “incident”…that..happens (cough cough inapropro for kids).  Despite this, it’s really good!  I’m not going to say more about the plot, because I don’t want to give anything away, and because it’s one of those books that leave you so stunned with its greatness that you can’t even begin to explain it.

Please just read it.  I’ve been trying to trick people into reading it all week:

#1) My friend: I heard that movie we wanted to see was really well done.

Me: On the subject of things that are well done, read the Fault in Our Stars!

#2)Friend: Hey I had this awesome dream last night–

Me: If you like awesome things you’d like The Fault in Our Stars!

#3) Friend: Good Morning!

Me: Speaking of things that are good, please please just read this book!

Okay, so that last one didn’t happen.  But you should read the book anyway.

.Layout 1the_fault_in_our_stars_by_harpymarx-d56eui2[1]

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Just started my blog today and saw you liked my post “The Secret Lives of Dresses”. Thanks for the support and I am thrilled you too are a book enthusiast! Keep up the good reading!

  2. Thanks for reading my review of this book; I enjoyed your take. I’m surprised, though, that you consider this an adult book; I put it in the young adult category. (Thank you also for following me.)

Leave a Reply

