Austenland by Shannon Hale

Austenland-banner[1]

Ok, I’m not a hipster, but I would like to say that I read this book before there was any hint of a movie, and found the author (my favorite) six years ago, so there.  I found it first… just wanted you all to know that.  But I’m good now.  We can move on.

Jane Hayes is a normal, seemingly down-to-earth New Yorker.  By day she’s just like every other single thirty-something woman.  She has a job, all the wrong guys are attracted to her, and she tries to keep her sarcasm to a minimum in the face of everyday awkwardness.  But by night, she gives in to her secret fantasy.  She watches Pride and Prejudice.

So when an elderly relative dies and leaves Jane a strange vacation in her will, she decides to go and try to beat the Austen out of her, in order to move on with her real life.  The vacation is a trip to  Pembrooke Park, a regency resort designed to mimic the year 1816 as closely as possible.  Guests will stay in an authentic manor, dress in spencers and bonnets, and play whist.  And each guest will be wooed by a member of the cast during their stay, to make it feel as if they star in their own novel.

As Jane adapts to regency life, she makes more than a few hilarious blunders, falls for the wrong man, and discovers a universal truth about herself.

Although I can’t speak for the movie that’s coming out (Dear moviemakers: please don’t maim my book thankyouverymuch!), I can say that the book, in traditional Shannon Hale style, is extemely funny–probably people will stare at you if you try to read it in a public place, as you’ll end up making odd sounds of supressed laughter–and has a quite the adorable love story.  In short, this is a fun light-hearted romp through recency England that Janites and non Janites alike will be sure to enjoy.  Just make sure to read the book first if you’re going to see the movie.  The book is always better.

6 thoughts on “Austenland by Shannon Hale

  1. Hi! Thanks for following my blog! I actually accidentally met Shannon Hale last year LOL She offered to take my picture when I was meeting another author. I didn’t even realize that it was her until after the fact!

  2. I enjoyed this book too, it was a great light read. Despite being a huge bookworm since age 5, I didn’t get into Jane Austen until my last year of college, so now I feel like I’m making up for lost time. Have you seen Lost in Austen? If not, I highly recommend it – it’s on Netflix!

    • Yes, i found Lost in Austen pretty recently. They remind me of each other–especially the part where the main character exhibts her singing skills to Darcy and the Bingleys 🙂

Leave a Reply

