Edenbrooke

Edenbrooke_cover-680x1024[1]

It was only matter of time before I reviewed this book.  I really love it.  It’s exactly the sort of easy-to-read girly fluff that will keep you up all night.  In a good way.  I’m pretty sure I read it in a day, and glared impressively at anyone who forced me to look away from it.

In order to escape the tedium of Bath and evade an unwanted suitor, Marianne Daventry accepts an invitation to visit a large country estate whose heir her sister is hoping to ensnare.  She gets more than she bargains for when a highway man holds up their carriage and shoots her coachman.  But she realizes she’s in way over her head when a mysterious handsome gentleman rushes in to assist her.  Annoyed with his continued interference, she comforts herself with the fact that she will never have to see him again.  Unfortunately for her, she runs in to him again upon her arrival to the estate.  His easygoing manner pulls her into a tentative friendship, but she is caught of gaurd by his flirtatious manner, and wishes her friend would stop implying sentiments he clearly doesn’t feel or mean to act on.

Is it terribly deep? No.  Is it worth reading?  I think so.  The truth is, this book is just good clean fun (like a guilty pleasure but not dirty).  You will probably read this in a day and enjoy every second of it (unless you’re a guy.)  And if you’re anything like me, you’ll spend much of the time squeeking and saying “That’s so cute!” every four seconds.

4 thoughts on “Edenbrooke

  1. sounds like a really good book. Is it my imagination that it basically follows Pried and Prejudice plot line of girl meeting guy, miss understanding him and then slowly falling in love?
    think i will add it to my list of books i want to read 🙂

  2. there was a really really negative review on goodreads.com it seemed very over the top and the writer was clearly very upset with all the other glowing reviews. i just wondered if you had read the review and if you think there is any truth in what he says (though i stress i think he has been far too emotive and therefore insensitive)
    i find it hard to know what reviews to trust

    • I read the review to see if there was any merit in what they were saying, and I’d agree with you that they seem a little too worked up about it. I’m surprised that they had enough hate to write such a long review and still countinued to read it. I can understand some of what they were saying in regards to the lack of complexity of characters and plot. I did state that the book wasn’t particulary deep, but I still enjoyed it. I guess it’s all a matter of opinion (sorry–really unhelpful statement). I thought it was a really enjoyable easy read, but I understand that it’s not for everyone. If you keep to a strict diet of heavy tomes that extrapolate upon weighty matters, this book probably isn’t for you. But if you occasionally like to get lost in a cute lighthearted love story, I would suggest you give it a try. Hope I could help!

      • that sounds like a really great review to me ‘light hearted love story’ . i love the occasional light hearted read esp at times when my head is painful and concentration levels are low so i will keep my eyes open. thanks!

Leave a Reply

